Welcome to the official tribute site for Knightmare - the award-winning adventure game show produced by Broadsword Television and shown on Children's ITV in the UK from 1987 to 1994.

This website launched in January 1999. Here, you can find:

  • Detailed information on the eight series of Knightmare
  • Hundreds of screen-shots
  • Cast photographs
  • Over 100MB of audio and video clips
  • Online versions of the official Knightmare Adventurers' Club newsletter
  • Various reviews of the books, computer/board games and the show itself
  • A history of the show, written by creator Tim Child

You can discuss any aspect of Knightmare with other visitors in the Knightmare Discussion Forum.

New to Knightmare?

You've probably seen Knightmare on TV or heard about it from your friends. If you haven't, here's a introduction:

Knightmare was a fantasy adventure game show broadcast in the UK between 1987 and 1994. It was created and produced by Tim Child as a Broadsword Television production for Anglia Television. The show made extensive use of chroma key (blue-screen) technology to generate an authentic dungeon environment with different backgrounds and graphics.

Teams of four embarked upon a quest - usually to redeem a symbolic object, such as a Crown or Shield. The dungeon master, Treguard, and his sometime assistants helped teams along their way as they solved problems, puzzles and riddles. There were three 'levels' corresponding to difficulty, with the quest objective at the end of the third level.


One member of the team became the 'dungeoneer'. They would be blindfolded by a helmet and guided through the adventure by their three companions. These advisors remained in the dungeon antechamber and watched the adventure through a 'Magic Mirror'.

The objective of each quest was established at the start, or early into the adventure. Winning teams would be awarded with a medal or Frightknight trophy.


Every level of the dungeon contained a 'clue room', which contained items to help teams advance. Teams were allowed to carry a maximum of two objects. Scrolls provided hints about what to take or how it might be used. In the later years, spyglasses allowed teams to gain clues by eavesdropping on the 'opposition' for a short time.

In the early series, clue rooms were frequently guarded by a character or wall monster. Teams needed to answer a number of riddles or questions correctly, earning additional information if they answered everything correctly. Such rewards might include passwords or even magic on rare occasions.

To keep the game brisk, dungeoneers had an energy status known as 'Life Force', which had to be restored regularly by collecting food. The energy status was frequently shown on-screen during the quests.

During Series 1-5, this was shown as an armoured head which decayed to show a skull. Life force status changed from green (healthy) to amber (moderate) to red (urgent). For Series 6-7, it was a knight shedding its armour to reveal a skeleton. Series 8 had an animated pie, where slices would disappear.


Other quest obstacles included card and chess puzzles, fireballs and spears, bombs, scorpions and snakes.


The Rules of the Knightmare Dungeon

These rules have been taken from the Knightmare books and are mostly relevant to the early series of Knightmare. In later series there were subtle changes (see the Series Guides for more information).

  1. Your Life Force Status has three possible stages: GREEN, AMBER and RED. You begin the adventure on GREEN, indicating that you are unwounded and fresh for the Challenge.
  2. During your adventure you will gradually lose Life Force energy. You may also lose one Life Force grade all together if you make a mistake.
  3. You can eat any item of food at any time which will restore your Life Force to GREEN. Your Life Force cannot go above GREEN.
  4. You can carry up to two objects at a time. If you find an item which you want but you already have two, you must discard one. Objects from level 1 cannot be used in level 2 and so on.
  5. You will sometimes be given spells to use during your adventure. You can only use up to three spells in your quest. Most spells are useful in several situations, but there will usually be one special situation that each spell is particularly helpful in dealing with. Choose the right moment to cast your spell, since a spell can only be used once.
  6. Remain true to the Code of Chivalry: be courageous, dutiful and just, protect the weak, and show honour even in adversity.
  7. One final point - the RIGHT-hand path is usually the best path to take, unless you are advised otherwise

Share this

FacebookTwitterDiggDeliciousStumbleuponGoogle BookmarksRedditNewsvineTechnorati